Blog Tour: Prosecco and Promises (Martini Club #2) by A.L. Michael 

Ebook | Release Date: 12th Feb 2018 Launch price of £1.99
ISBN 9781911591313

About the Book: 


I wrenched my eyes away, nodded, and walked through the door, trying not to focus on the fact that the last words my father ever said to me were destined to be a lie.
Since her mother died when Mia was a child, her dad has been her best friend and her idol. Now, the cancer he survived years before is back, and this time there’s no fighting it. To make matters worse her dad’s last request is for Mia to leave him and visit her mother’s family on the Italian island of Ischia so she doesn’t have to be there at the end.
Arriving at the sun-soaked island, Mia is embraced by the warm, crazy family she doesn’t know. While she waits for the phone to ring with the dreaded news, Mia desperately looks for a connection to the mother she never knew. Stumbling upon an antique shop run by the charming Antonio a nd his grouchy but handsome grandson Salvatore , she throws herself into helping with the shop restoration. As Mia and Salvatore’s bickering soon turns to chemistry, will she risk having her heart broken when she knows what’s waiting for her at home?
A feel-good story of self-discovery and love in the face of grief, join Mia in the beautiful Italian island of Ischia. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lindsey Kelk and Lucy Vine.

If you love Prosecco and Promises, why not read more about Mia’s best friend Savvy in Cocktails and Dreams? (Martini Club #1)  Out  now!

About the Author:


A.L. Michael is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of ten novels. She is a Creative Therapeutic Facilitator, currently researching the power of creative writing to be helpful in recovering from eating disorders, and believes in the power of writing to heal. You can find out more about A.L. Michael at http://www.almichael.com and on Twitter @almichael_
For Press Enquiries and Review Copies please contact Ellie Pilcher: ellie@canelo.co | http://www.canelo.co | @canelo_co

My Review:

When I saw this on NetGalley, and read that it was recommended for those who liked authors such as Lindsey Kelk, I requested it straight away. Lindsey Kelk is one of my favourite authors amd I’m always looking for authors who have a similar writing style to her. 

I was not disappointed. In fact, I held onto every word of this book! Prosecco and Promises (Martini Club #1)  is not the first book by A.L. Michael I had heard of. I also have the first book in the Martini Club series. 

28 year old Mia has lived without her mother by her side since she was little. When her dad’s cancer is back she’s faced with him needing to talk to her about his dying wish. He wants her to go and visit her extended family so she can learn more about them and her mother’s life. 
They aren’t just down the road, though. And so it is that she finds herself boarding a plane to the Italian island of Ischia, where her mother grew up and where her parents met. Promises and Prosecco is a real journey of love. loss and self-discovery that captured my heart.


I loved Mia’s cousin Nikki’s loud, proud and funny personality and felt she was the perfect cousin. Her mother, (and Mia’s aunt) Allegra, was very welcoming and homely. Then, there’s Nonna, a woman who at first won’t acknowledge Mia. Will things change between Mia and her? 
Salvatore, who seems offish at the start isn’t sure about Mia. Will love bloom for them? 
His grandfather and the legacy of the shop were interesting additions to the story and put a historical touch into the story. Mia is fanatical about archaeology, but I loved how the whole story was a discovery of a different kind. 
Deeply moving and personal, I couldn’t stop listening to, or thinking about this book even long after I had finished it. The memories peppered here and there of Mia’s experience as a young child on family holidays to the island, of ice cream and trips to various places or of just being with family. And the compass Salvatore’s grandfather gave her……
Prosecco and Promises is an amazing tale of feeling loss and of finding yourself again. It’s about the lengths some people go to to keep a family together. It’s about finding support in the most unexpected people and places. 
The book has the perfect pace and I really felt as a reader like I was accompanying Mia on her journey. The sights of Ischia are amazing, and the old shop and Allegra’s house were beautifully described. 
Thank you to A.L. Michael and Canelo for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.

 

1) How did the idea for the plot come about?

 

I’d been considering the idea for a while, the idea of a proud man sending his daughter away so as not to let her see him as weak. Once I had that, I knew that the place she had been ‘exiled’ to had to help her to heal. Ideas for me always come from the character. Mia is headstrong and sharp but needed to let herself be vulnerable. The plot evolved from those key features.

 

2) Who is your favourite character?

 

I love Antonio – I’m a sucker for an old romantic who loves to dole out advice. Antonio has lived on the island for his whole life, but he’s had adventures in his youth. He’s kind and watches people and understands their motivations. He showed Mia kindness when she was a child and it was something she never forgot.

 

3) What was the most challenging thing about writing this book?

 

The practicalities of writing a book when you haven’t been to the place it’s set are irritating – you have to be really dedicated to detail. Luckily, I went to Ischia when I was halfway through writing the book, so it gave me the chance to fix some of the mistakes I made with the layout of the island.

 

4) Do you have any advice for those of us who would like to write a book someday?

 

Do it! Do it and finish it no matter what! Don’t let doubt get in your way and don’t listen to other people too much – just write something you’d like to read!

 

5) What do you like to do when not writing?

 

Reading, watching movies, working out, yoga, planning holidays and day dreaming. I love learning new things so usually I’m always on the go. To be honest, there’s not much time when I’m not writing – I’d say 70% of my time is writing, thinking about writing, planning to write, or editing!

 

6) Love the catchy title! What’s the inspiration behind that?

 

That’s actually my publisher’s excellent choice – it made sense with the story, the home of Prosecco and a terrible promise Mia is determined to keep.

 

7) Who is your favourite author?

 

There’s so many! In this genre, I think Mhairi Mcfarlane is excellent, as well as Kirsty Greenwood, Portia Macintosh, Lynsey James, the list goes on! I like books where the women can be unusual or the black sheep. And something that makes me laugh always goes a long way.

 

If you love the sound of Prosecco and Promises, you can buy a copy at these sites: 

Amazon (UK)
Kobo (UK)
Google Books (UK)
Apple Books (UK)

Advertisements

One thought on “Blog Tour: Prosecco and Promises (Martini Club #2) by A.L. Michael 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s